AR Senate District 19

We are seeking Democratic candidates for this race. Republican incumbent Linda Collins-Smith is being primary challenged by Republican James Sturch.

Members of the Arkansas State Senate are elected to four-year terms with term limits. The Arkansas legislature is one of 15 state legislatures with term limits. Arkansas senators are subject to term limits of no more than 16 years in either or both legislative chambers throughout their lifetimes.[5] Service in the state legislature is part-time. In the first election after the census, all 35 seats are up for election. The Senators “shall divide themselves into two classes, by lot, and the first class shall hold their places for two years only, after which all shall be elected for four years.” Arkansas legislators assume office on the first day of session: the second Monday of January.