AR House of Representatives District 63

The Arkansas House of Representatives, along with the Arkansas Senate, compose the legislative branch of state government. Combined, the two bodies form the Arkansas General Assembly, which convenes in Regular Session on the second Monday in January of every odd-numbered year. The General Assembly convenes in Fiscal Session the second Monday of February every even-numbered year.  The 90th General Assembly convened at noon on Monday, January 12, 2015, for the Regular Session.

The House of Representatives consists of 100 Members elected from 100 districts, which are apportioned on a one-person, one-vote basis. Each House district has an average population of 29,159, according to the 2010 census.  Parliamentary procedure is guided by the House Rules.

Republican James Sturch was elected to this position in 2016. He has announced a state Senate run for 2018. Republican Stu Smith of Batesville has announced his intention to run for District 63 in 2018.